Staff Picks

Staff Pick Logo
Robin Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781627794244
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - May 15th, 2018

Dave Itzkoff’s new biography of Williams, simply entitled “Robin,” is written a generous, appreciative spirit. Itzkoff, a culture reporter for The New York Times, is an unabashed fan, declaring in the book’s acknowledgments that Williams was one of his heroes growing up. Taking on this project did not leave the author disillusioned. Though “Robin” is exhaustively reported and doesn’t shy away from the abundant messiness in Williams’s personal life, it never crosses the threshold from critical assessment into bonkers character assassination, (The New York Times)


Staff Pick Logo
Miss Kopp Just Won't Quit (A Kopp Sisters Novel #4) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781328736512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - September 11th, 2018

The Miss Kopp series continues with Miss Constance Kopp, New Jersey's first female deputy sheriff, on the hunt for an escaped inmate who was bound for the asylum. Amy Stewart is a champion of forgotten women and a lively storyteller who brings her trademark wit, verve and humor to every page. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)


Staff Pick Logo
Ghosted: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525522775
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - July 24th, 2018

“This is an ‘accidentally stayed up until 4 AM. because it's impossible to put down’ kind of novel.” --USA Today

Seven perfect days. Then Eddie disappeared. Sarah's friends tell her to forget about him, but she can't. She knows something's happened--there must be an explanation.

Minutes, days, weeks go by as Sarah becomes increasingly worried. But then she discovers she's right. There is a reason for Eddie's disappearance, and it's the one thing they didn't share with each other: the truth. (USA Today)


Staff Pick Logo
The Restless Wave: Good Times, Just Causes, Great Fights, and Other Appreciations Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781501178009
Availability: Backordered
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 22nd, 2018

In Memoriam.

John McCain has written an inspiring, moving, frank, and deeply personal memoir. While confronting a mortal illness, McCain looks back with appreciation on his years in the Senate, his historic 2008 campaign for the presidency against Barack Obama, and his crusades on behalf of democracy and human rights in Eastern Europe and the Middle East. (Kirkus Review)


Staff Pick Logo
Crazy Rich Asians (Crazy Rich Asians Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345803788
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - May 20th, 2014

Crazy Rich Asians is the first book in Kevin Kwan's Crazy Rich Asians Trilogy. The movie came out recently. Kwan has written a laugh-out-loud, comic and sometimes "over the top" book about families of fabulous wealth and how they "play" in the Singapore jet set world. Thankfully, the book offers no social commentary, not seeking to be in anyway profound. It is simply fun and a joy to read. (Leslie Finkel)

 


Staff Pick Logo
The Locals: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812983395
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - August 21st, 2018

A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times—fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.

WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK

Mark Firth is a contractor and home restorer in Howland, Massachusetts, who feels opportunity passing his family by.

Philip Hadi used to be one of these people. But in the nervous days after 9/11 he flees New York and hires Mark to turn his Howland home into a year-round “secure location” from which he can manage billions of dollars of other people’s money. The collision of these two men’s very different worlds is the engine of Jonathan Dee’s powerful new novel.

Mark starts buying up local property with cheap debt. Then the town’s first selectman dies suddenly, and Hadi volunteers for office. He soon begins subtly transforming Howland in his image—with unexpected results for Mark and his extended family.


Staff Pick Logo
Uncommon Type Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101911945
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - September 4th, 2018

A collection of seventeen wonderful short stories showing that two-time Oscar winner Tom Hanks is as talented a writer as he is an actor. 

A gentle Eastern European immigrant arrives in New York City after his family and his life have been torn apart by his country's civil war. A man who loves to bowl rolls a perfect game--and then another and then another and then many more in a row until he winds up ESPN's newest celebrity, and he must decide if the combination of perfection and celebrity has ruined the thing he loves. An eccentric billionaire and his faithful executive assistant venture into America looking for acquisitions and discover a down and out motel, romance, and a bit of real life. These are just some of the tales Tom Hanks tells in this first collection of his short stories. They are surprising, intelligent, heartwarming, and, for the millions and millions of Tom Hanks fans, an absolute must-have!